Baxter Trophy

The final competition of the County season is the prestigious Baxter Trophy held in October each year and brings together the very best of both male and female golfers from each club.  

The trophy was founded at Kirby Muxloe by Alex Baxter, originally for the Club Professional and the Club's best lady golfer, and it was first awarded in 1985 to a Mrs A Knight and K Mountfield.  Alex was an accomplished golfer herself, playing off 4 and was County Champion twice.  The current competition is a Mixed Foursomes format and is played at a different course each year.  It is made up of a qualifying medal round followed by matchplay knock out. 

Clubs are invited to enter an A & B team and the top four scratch scores go on to contest the matchplay knockout semi-final and final one/two weeks after the qualifying date.

The winners are awarded the Baxter Trophy which they keep for a year.

There are also voucher prizes for Best Gross and Best Nett scores on the qualifying day.


The 2024 Baxter Trophy will be played at Birstall on Sunday 13th and Sunday 20th October


Full results for the 2023 competition can be seen by selecting the relevant round from the drop down menu at


File NameFile Size
Copyright © Leicestershire and Rutland Ladies County Golf Association, 2015-2024. All Rights Reserved.

Website Design and Cloud Hosting by Uxello.
Golf Club CMSWebsite System - Golf Club CMS
Switch to Desktop ViewSwitch to Mobile View